Hi, My Name is Joe

Category: Songs

a.k.a. “The Button Factory Song”
Tune See video below
Type of Song Actions, Build Upon/Take Away
Actions See lyrics below
Similar Songs

Lyrics

v.1
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no”
“Then push this button with your right hand” / push an imaginary button with your right hand

v.2
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your left hand.” / push imaginary buttons with right and left hands

v.3
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your right foot.” / push imaginary buttons with right hand, left hand, and right foot

v.4
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your left foot.” / push imaginary buttons with right hand, left hand, right foot, and left foot

v.5
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your bum.” / push imaginary buttons with right hand, left hand, right foot, left foot, and bum

v.6
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your head.” / push imaginary buttons with right hand, left hand, right foot, left foot, bum, and head

v.7
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “no.”
“Then push this button with your tongue.” / push imaginary buttons with right hand, left hand, right foot, left foot, bum, head, and tongue

v.8
Hi, my name is Joe
And I work in a button factory
I got a wife and two kids
One day, my boss says, “Joe, are you busy?”
I said, “YES!”

This is a version by Sharon, Lois, and Bram. The song doesn’t start until 4:50, so I suggest skipping to that part.

3 thoughts on “Hi, My Name is Joe

  1. It goes:
    Hi, my name is Joe.
    And I work In a button factory
    I’ve got a wife and two kids
    And a dog named spot
    Woof woof
    One day my boss said
    Hey joe are you busy
    I said no
    Then push this button with your right hand

  2. the original version of the song uses the name jean, also he has a dog & two kids, no wife is mentioned. Also the second and first lines of each verse are mixed up. other wise it was Okay.

    • I’ve heard the versions with a dog before but I had completely forgotten until now! I will add it along with this one. As far as the verses go, did you mean that it goes:
      Hi, my name is Jean
      I got a dog and two kids
      And I work in a button factory

      Let us know so that we can make that version available to everyone!

Leave a Reply

